Interview

Where do I come from
From Erding, nearby Munich/Germany
Why do I sing?
My soul is well when I am singing
And what do I like apart from singing?
Meeting friends, pronging my garden, hiking, reading, animals, cozy evenings, chatting, traveling and my family.
My own personal musical highlight?
Messiah at the Handel Festival in Halle/ Germany (Cond: Howard Arman)
My motto?
Arise and shine, for your light has come (Jesaja 60,1)

Biography

Born in Erding, close to Munich/ Germany, Anna- Maria Palii started her courses of studies in the subjects of science education, psychology and music education at the University of Bamberg/ Germany and switched later to the University of Music and Performing Arts in Graz/ Austria, to study voice classes with Elena Pakratova, Joseph Breinl and Christine Whittlesey, where she completed her Master of Arts in 2018.

Her musical knowledge was furthered since winter semester 2018/19 at the University of Music and Theater in Munich with the voice class of KS Prof. Christiane Iven, completing her master‘s course in concert performance.

She received musical impulses from Julie Kaufmann and Edith Wiens, in addition, she attended masterclasses by Thomas Hampson, Thomas Quasthoff, Jan Philip Schulze, Robert Holl, Joshua Rifkin, Brigitte Fassbaender, Hedwig Fassbender, James Bailieu and Caroline Dowdle.

Anna-Maria Palii is an awardee of the Rotary Club, the Irmler- Foundation by the University of Bamberg/ Germany, the Bayerischen Singakademie (Bavarian Singing Academy) and the Festival Academy of Verbier/ Switzerland. She is a laureate of the Irmler Music Competition Bamberg and the Rotary Music Competition. For the season of 2018/19, she is an awardee of the Britten- Pears Young Artist Program.

Since 2016, the young soprano holds a position in the Bayerische Rundfunkchor (Bavarian Broadcast Choir) and owns a very active concert career as a soloist. She collaborates with the Symphony orchestra of the Bavarian Broadcast, Concerto Cologne, the Academy of Early Music Berlin, the Verbier Festival Orchestra the Munich Radio Orchestra, together with such conductors as Peter Dijkstra, Howard Arman, Mariss Jansons, Matthias Pintscher, and Esa-Pekka Salonen. Until now, she has multitudinous engagements such as the Verbier Festival/ Switzerland, the International Haendel Festival in Halle/ Germany and Opera Graz/ Austria.

Furthermore, she can be heard regularly as an interpreter for contemporary music together with the Symphony Orchestra of the Bavarian Broadcast within the scope of the internationally renowned concerts series Musica Viva. In the summer of 2019, she will make her debut at the Salzburg Summer Music Festival as a soloist, performing Arvo Pärts „Miserere” together with the Austrian Ensemble.

Steckbrief

Wo komme ich her?
aus Erding bei München
Warum singe ich?
Meiner Seele geht es gut, wenn ich singe
Was mag ich außer Singen?
Freunde treffen, meinen Garten umgraben, Wandern, Lesen, Tiere, gemütliche Abende, Ratschen, Reisen und meine Familie.
Was war biografisch mein musikalisches Highlight?
Messias bei den Händel-Festspielen Halle (Leitung Howard Arman)
Wie lautet mein Lebensmotto?
Mache Dich auf und werde Licht, denn Dein Licht kommt (Jesaja 60,1)

Biografie

Die aus Erding stammende Sopranistin Anna-Maria Palii studierte zunächst Pädagogik, Psychologie und Musikpädagogik an der Universität Bamberg und wechselte später an die Universität für Musik und darstellende Kunst in Graz, wo sie Gesang bei Elena Pankratova, Joseph Breinl und Christine Whittlesey studierte und 2018 mit einem Master of Arts abgeschlossen hat.
An der Hochschule für Musik und Theater München vertieft sie seit dem WS 18/19 in der Gesangsklasse von Christiane Iven ihre musikalischen Studien in einem Masterstudiengang Konzertgesang.
Sie erhielt musikalische Impulse von Julie Kaufmann und Edith Wiens, ergänzend besuchte sie Meisterkurse bei Thomas Hampson, Thomas Quasthoff, Jan Philip Schulze, Robert Holl, Joshua Rifkin, Brigitte Fassbaender, Hedwig Fassbender, James Baillieu und Caroline Dowdle.
Anna-Maria Palii ist Stipendiatin des Rotary Clubs, der Irmler-Stiftung der Universität Bamberg, der Bayerischen Singakademie und der Verbier Festival Academy. Als Preisträgerin ging sie u.a. aus dem Irmler Musikwettbwerb Bamberg und dem Rotary Music Competition hervor. In der Saison 2018/19 ist sie Stipendiatin des Britten-Pears Young Artist Programms.
Die junge Sopranistin hat seit 2016 eine Stelle im Chor des Bayerischen Rundfunks inne und zudem hat sie eine rege Konzerttätigkeit als Solistin. Sie arbeitete zusammen mit dem Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks, Concerto Köln, der Akademie für alte Musik Berlin, dem Verbier Festival Orchester, dem Münchner Rundfunkorchester und mit Dirigenten wie Peter Dijkstra, Howard Arman, Mariss Jansons, Matthias Pintscher, und Esa-Pekka Salonen. Zahlreiche Engagements führten Sie bisher zum Verbier Festival, zu den Internationalen Händel Festspielen Halle und an die Oper Graz.
Darüber hinaus ist sie als Interpretin für zeitgenössische Musik regelmäßig zusammen mit dem Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks im Rahmen der international renommierten Konzertreihe Musica Viva zu hören. Im Sommer 2019 wird sie bei den Salzburger Festspielen im Sommer 2019 als Solistin in Arvo Pärts „Miserere“ mit dem Österreichischen Ensemble debütieren.