Interview

Where do I come from
Jerusalem, Israel
Why do I sing?
I believe, that my voice is a gift from god. I love to pray through music and singing. This is my art and my way to express myself and to reach out to touch the audience.
And what do I like apart from singing?
Reading books, listen to music, watching movies and TV series, dancing, Yoga, cooking
My own personal musical highlight?
Passing the entry test at the Theaterakademie August Everding 😊
My motto?
"Looking to the plentifulness of life in harsh times“

Biography

Ayelet Kagan was born in 1993 in Jerusalem/ Israel. As a child, she received violin lessons and sang in various choirs. From 2005- 2011 she was a member of the Angkor Youth Choir, which is the major Youth Choir in Israel.
The young soprano made her general qualification for university entrance
with music and theater as a main subject and also served her time on duty in the Israel Military Service.

From 2014-2018 she studied voice at the Jerusalem Academy of Music and Dance with Efrat Ben-Nun and Zvi Zemel.
During her studies she gained experience in various opera productions of the academy: she performed as Monica in „The Medium” by Menotti (2017), as Papagena in „The Magic Flute” by Mozart (2018) and as Gretel in „Hänsel und Gretel” by Humperdinck (2018)

Simultaneously she sang with the Chamber Choir of the Academy, which – together with the Israel Philharmonic Orchestra- frequently gave concerts in Germany and Poland. Doing so, the young soprano took over many solo parts, such as in „Vesprae solennes de confessore” by Mozart and „Ein Deutsches Requiem” by Brahms

Ayelet Kagan won the first prize at the Jerusalem Academy recital competition and received the Clair-Hasson-Grant. Furthermore, she is a scholarship- holder of the American-Israel Cultural Foundation until 2020. She completed her studies in international master classes, such as with Jeannette Favaro-Reuther and Andreas Scholl and also was a participant of the IVAI Tel Aviv Summer Opera Program.

Since winter semester 2018, she is studying at the Theaterakademie August Everding for her master degree in theater and voice and in the vocal class of KS Prof. Christiane Iven. She performed as Despina in „Cosi fan tutte”, a successful opera production of the Academy, together with the Munich Chamber Orchestra (Conductor: Clemes Schuldt, Stage Director: Bruno Klimek).

Steckbrief

Wo komme ich her?
Jerusalem, Israel
Warum singe ich?
Ich glaube, dass meine Stimme ein Geschenk von Gott ist. Ich liebe es, durch Musik und Gesang zu beten. Es ist meine Kunst und meine Art, mich auszudrücken und das Publikum zu rühren.
Was mag ich außer Singen?
Bücher zu lesen, Musik hören, Filme und Serien anschauen, tanzen, Yoga, kochen.
Was war biografisch mein musikalisches Highlight?
Als ich die Aufnahmprüfung der Theaterakademie August Everding bestanden habe 😊
Wie lautet mein Lebensmotto?
"Auch in schwierigen Zeiten dankbar in die Fülle des Lebens blicken"

Biografie

Ayelet Kagan wurde 1993 in Jerusalem geboren. Sie erhielt schon als Kind Geigenunterricht und sang in zahlreichen Chören. Von 2005 – 2011 war sie Mitglied des Ankor Youth Choir, der als Israels bester Jugendchor gilt.
Die Sopranistin machte 2011 mit dem Leistungsfach Musik und Theater Abitur und
absolvierte 2014 ihren Pflichtwehrdienst.

Von 2014 – 2018 studierte sie Gesang an der Jerusalem Akademie für Musik und Tanz bei Efrat Ben-Nun und Zvi Zemel.
Schon während ihres Studiums sammelte sie Bühnenerfahrung in diversen Opern- Produktionen der Akademie: Sie sang Monica in “The Medium” von Menotti (2017), Papagena in “Die Zauberflöte” von Mozart (2018) und Gretel in “Hänsel und Gretel” von Humperdinck (2018).

Parallel sang sie im Akademie Kammerchor, der gemeinsam mit dem „Israel Philharmonie Orchestra“ häufig in Deutschland und Polen konzertierte. Dabei übernahm die junge Sopranistin zahlreiche Solopartien, u.a. in der
Vesperae solennes de confessore von Mozart und in “Ein Deutches Requiem” von Brahms.

Ayelet Kagan gewann den 1. Preis beim Jerusalem Akademie Lieder Wettbewerb und erhielt das Clair-Hasson-Stipendium. Zudem ist sie bis 2020 Stipendiatin der American-Israel Cultural Foundation. Ihre Studien ergänzte sie in Internationalen Meisterklassen u. a. mit Jeanette Favaro-Reuther, Andreas Scholl und als Teilnehmerin des IVAI Tel Aviv Summer Opera Programm.

Seit dem Wintersemester 2018 studiert die Sopranistin an der Theaterakademie August Everding im Studiengang Master Musiktheater / Operngesang und in der Gesangsklasse von Prof. Christiane Iven. In der erfolgreichen Opernproduktion „So machen’s alle“ von Mozart mit dem Münchner Kammerorchester (musikalische Leitung: Clemens Schuldt, Regie: Bruno Klimek) sang sie die Despina.