Interview

Where do I come from
Zurich
Why do I sing?
When my mother opened her singing school I always joined in instead of having a babysitter. Not much has changed since: singing still takes care of my mind and body!
And what do I like apart from singing?
Sports, splashing around in Lake Zurich, enjoying a good wine with friends, eating (I’d say cooking but unfortunately I’m not very good at it), movie nights.
My own personal musical highlight?
Singing "Cherubino" at the Saarländisches Staatstheater and "Carmen" at the Osterfestspiele Baden-Baden and at the Kleine Philharmonie in Berlin.
My motto?
"Challenge accepted!" (Barney Stinson)

Biography

Céline Akçağ, who was born in Zurich, began her vocal training with her mother. Following her school-leaving exams, she became an undergraduate at the Konservatorium Zürich under Ulrike Andersen. The mezzo-soprano subsequently completed her Bachelor’s degree in opera, concert and pedagogy at the Musikhochschule Freiburg under Prof. Dorothea Wirtz. After an overseas semester with Mary Nelson and Iain Ledingham at the Royal Academy of Music in London, she enrolled in the Theaterakademie August Everding in Munich to do her Master’s in musical theatre/singing (opera) in the vocal class of Prof. Andreas Schmidt. She is currently expanding her education with a Master’s in singing (concert) at the Hochschule für Musik und Theater under Prof. Christiane Iven. At the same time, she is completing post-graduate studies with her Lied partner Rebeka Stojkoska at the Mozarteum University in Salzburg under Prof. Pauliina Tukiainen that focus on Lied interpretation.

She has attended master classes given by Vesselina Kasarova, Anne Le Bozec, Prof. Claudia Visca, Prof. Ulrike Sonntag, and Tobias Kratzer.

To date, she has sung with the Münchener Rundfunkorchester, the Münchener Kammerorchester, the Karajan-Akademie of the Berliner Philharmoniker, Die Preisträger and Sinfonie Orchester Meilen (both Switzerland), the Philharmonisches Orchester Plauen-Zwickau (Germany) and with Das Kleine Zürcher Ensemble. Conductors have included Wayne Marshall, Benjamin Reiners, Matthias Foremny and Clemens Schuldt.

She has performed in the following operatic roles: as Dorabella (So machen’s alle, W.A. Mozart), Carmen (La tragédie de Carmen, G. Bizet/P. Brook), Hansel (Hänsel und Gretel, E. Humperdinck), Nancy (Martha, F.v. Flotow), Vanina (L’Ancêtre, C. Saint-Saëns), Glückskind (Goldteufel, S.J. Hanke) and Giannetta (L’elisir d’amore, G. Donizetti).

Since 2019 she has been part of the cast of D.I.V.A. opéra spectacle, performing various shows in France. Céline Akçağ won the Studienpreis 2019 issued by the Migros Culture Percentage. She also holds scholarships issued by the Richard Wagner Verband, the Freunde des Nationaltheaters, the Fritz-Gerber-Stiftung, the Stiftung Lyra, the Schweizerische Musikverband, the Dr. Max Husmann-Stiftung and by the Stiftung Ruth und Ernst Burkhalter.

During the 2019/20 season she will perform as Cherubino (Le nozze di Figaro, W.A. Mozart) at the Saarländisches Staatstheater and as Ghost Child 1 (Coraline, M.A. Turnage) at the Opernhaus Zürich.

Website

celineakcag.com

Media

“Vårtagen” by Jean Sibelius

Céline Akçağ (mezzo-soprano) & Rebeka Stojkoska (piano)

Recording – 30.06.2020

Steckbrief

Wo komme ich her?
Zürich
Warum singe ich?
Als meine Mutter ihre Gesangschule gegründet hat, habe ich einfach immer mitgesungen, anstatt einen Babysitter zu haben. Viel hat sich nicht geändert: das Singen passt immer noch auf meine Psyche und Physis auf ;-)
Was mag ich außer Singen?
Sport, im Zürisee planschen, einen guten Wein mit Freunden genießen, essen (ich würde kochen sagen, aber das kann ich leider nicht so gut), Filmabende
Was war biografisch mein musikalisches Highlight?
Cherubino am Saarländischen Staatstheater, und Carmen an den Osterfestspielen Baden-Baden sowie in der kleinen Berliner Philharmonie.
Wie lautet mein Lebensmotto?
Challenge accepted! (Barney Stinson)

Biografie

Céline Akçağ, in Zürich geboren, begann ihre Gesangsausbildung bei ihrer Mutter. Nach der Matura war sie Vorstudentin am Konservatorium Zürich bei Ulrike Andersen. Anschließend absolvierte die Mezzosopranistin ihren Bachelor in Oper, Konzert und Pädagogik an der Musikhochschule Freiburg bei Prof. Dorothea Wirtz. Nach einem Auslandsemester, das sie an der Royal Academy of Music (LDN) bei Mary Nelson und Iain Ledingham verbrachte, studierte sie  an der Theaterakademie August Everding in München den Master Musiktheater/Operngesang und in der Gesangsklasse von KS Prof. Andreas Schmidt. Derzeit erweitert die sie ihr Studium mit einem Master Konzertgesang an der Hochschule für Musik und Theater München bei KS Prof. Christiane Iven und gemeinsam mit ihrer Liedpartnerin Rebeka Stojkoska mit einem postgradualen Studiengang  in Liedgestaltung an der Universität Mozarteum Salzburg bei Prof. Pauliina Tukiainen.

Meisterkurse besuchte sie bei Vesselina Kasarova, Anne Le Bozec, Prof. Claudia Visca, Prof. Ulrike Sonntag und Tobias Kratzer.

Sie sang bereits mit dem Münchner Rundfunkorchester, Münchener Kammerorchester, der Karajan-Akademie der Berliner Philharmoniker, Die Preisträger (CH), Sinfonie Orchester Meilen (CH), Philharmonisches Orchester Plauen-Zwickau (D) und Das kleine Zürcher Ensemble, u.a. unter dem Dirigat von Wayne Marshall, Benjamin Reiners, Matthias Foremny und Clemens Schuldt.

In Opernproduktionen war sie als Dorabella (So machen’s alle, W.A. Mozart), Carmen (La tragédie de Carmen, G. Bizet/P. Brook), Hänsel (Hänsel und Gretel, E. Humperdinck), Nancy (Martha, F.v. Flotow), Vanina (L’Ancêtre, C. Saint-Saëns), Glückskind (Goldteufel, S.J. Hanke) und Giannetta (L’elisir d’amore, G. Donizetti) zu hören.

Seit 2019 gehört sie zum Cast von D.I.V.A opéra spectacle und gibt diverse Shows in Frankreich.

Céline Akçağ gewann den Studienpreis 2019 des Migros Kulturprozent und ist Stipendiatin des Richard Wagner Verbands, der Freunde des Nationaltheaters, der Fritz-Gerber-Stiftung, der Stiftung Lyra, des Schweizerischen Musikerverbandes, der Dr. Max Husmann-Stiftung und der Stiftung Ruth und Ernst Burkhalter.

In der Spielzeit 2019/20 ist sie als Cherubino (Le nozze di Figaro, W.A. Mozart) am Saarländischen Staatstheater und als Geisterkind 1 (Coraline, M.A. Turnage) am Opernhaus Zürich zu erleben.

Website

celineakcag.com