Interview

Where do I come from
Strasbourg / Frankreich
Why do I sing?
Because it is healthy! It is a natural thing and my passion as well.
And what do I like apart from singing?
Live-to-see beautiful moments with family and friends, playing trumpet, watching TV series, enjoying wine
My own personal musical highlight?
Performing as Guglielmo in “Cosi fan tutte” last semester in Dresden/Germany ! What a great experience!
My motto?
“Whatever it may be, life is good“ J.W.von Goethe

Biography

The baritone Damien Gastl was born in Strasbourg/ France.
At the conservatory of his home town, he gained his full academic qualification for voice with distinction and received a „Diplôme d’études musicales”.

Since 2014 he continues his studies at the University of Music Carl Maria von Weber in Dresden/ Germany together with Prof. Christiane Junghanns as well as the Lied class, together with KS Prof. Olaf Bär. Additional studies with the Concert class of Britta Schwarz deepened his knowledge about oratorios.

Since winter semester 2018/19 Damien Gastl is studying at the Theaterakademie August Everding and continues his master degree in opera together with KS Prof. Christiane Iven.

He made his debut as Pierrot in Glucks „Merlins Insel oder die Verkehrte Welt” („Merlins Island and the upside-down World”) in 2014 at the Labortheater Dresden/ Germany, followed by engagements at the Landesbühnen Sachsen as Deputé in Verdi’s „Don Carlo”, as well as his participation in opera productions at his university, such as Simon in „Treemonisha” or Guglielmo in „Cosi fan Tutte”.

His passion is on French music. His intense settlement with the literature of French composers lead to his participation of concert series in Dresden, titled „Französische Natur” (French Nature), where amongst others he performed Ravel’s song cycle „Histoires Naturelles”.

Media

DAMIEN GASTL sings “Les deux grenadiers“ by R. Wagner

Steckbrief

Wo komme ich her?
Strasbourg / Frankreich
Warum singe ich?
Weil es gesund ist! Es ist natürlich auch meine Leidenschaft
Was mag ich außer Singen?
Schöne Momente mit Familie und Freunden erleben, Trompete spielen, Serien schauen, Wein trinken 
Was war biografisch mein musikalisches Highlight?
Guglielmo in "Cosi fan Tutte" letztes Semester in Dresden ! Tolle Erfahrung!
Wie lautet mein Lebensmotto?
“Wie es auch sei, das Leben, es ist gut“ (J.W.von Goethe)

Biografie

Der Bariton Damien Gastl wurde in Straßburg, Frankreich geboren.

Am Konservatorium seiner Heimatstadt schloss er ein Gesangsstudium mit Auszeichnung ab und erhielt ein „Diplôme d’études musicales“.

Seit 2014 führt er seine Gesangsstudien an der Hochschule für Musik Carl Maria von Weber Dresden bei Prof. Christiane Junghanns und in der Liedklasse KS Prof. Olaf Bär fort. Zusätzliche Studien in der Konzertklasse von Britta Schwarz vertieften seine Kenntnisse des Oratoriums.

Ab dem Wintersemester 2018/19 studiert Damien Gastl an der Theaterakademie August Everding und in der Klasse von Prof. Christiane Iven im Masterstudiengang Musiktheater/Operngesang.

Sein Operndebut gab Damien Gastl 2014 als Pierrot in Glucks „Merlins Insel oder die Verkehrte Welt“ im Labortheater Dresden. Darauf folgten Engagements an den Landesbühnen Sachsen als „Deputé“ in „Don Carlo“ sowie die Teilnahme an Opernproduktionen der Hochschule wie „Treemonisha“ in der Rolle des Simon und „Cosi fan tutte“ als Guglielmo.

Eine besondere Leidenschaft gilt der französischen Musik. Die intensive Auseinandersetzung mit der Literatur französischer Komponisten führte zur Beteiligung an einer Konzertreihe in Dresden unter dem Titel „Französische Natur“, in dem er unter anderem M. Ravels Liederzyklus „Histoires naturelles“ aufführte.