Interview

Where do I come from
Salzburg
Why do I sing?
I love the moment of connection between the audience and me, that comes through the power of the music, and when I can deliver the expression within the music to the listeners.
And what do I like apart from singing?
Dance, sport, and yoga, playing the piano and very typically Austrian: baking pastries!
My own personal musical highlight?
Singing Charlotte's Letter Aria with a full orchestra – I was completely in the flow!
My motto?
Everything comes to you at the right time, just be patient and perceptive.

Biography

Mezzo-soprano Franziska Weber from Salzburg, Austria, began singing in choirs in her early childhood. She started singing training at age 15 and from 2015 to 2019 studied Voice and vocal pedagogy at the University Mozarteum Salzburg with KS Prof. Ildikó Raimondi. She participated in masterclasses with Prof. Claudia Visca, Snežana Brzakovic and Tanja A. Baumgartner, among others.

During her studies Franziska Weber had the opportunity to participate chorally in various scenic productions; both at the Mozarteum University (Poulenc – Dialogues des Carmélites, 2016; Händel – Alcina, 2017) and at prestigious festivals in Salzburg (Mozart – Die Entführung aus dem Serail, Mozart Week 2018; Puccini – Tosca, Easter Festival 2018). In 2017, Franziska Weber also had the chance to sing the role of a Lehrbube in Richard Wagner`s Die Meistersinger von Nürnberg at La Scala in Milan under the baton of Daniele Gatti.

Franziska Weber’s wide repertoire also includes 20th century music. In 2017 she sang Le Marteau sans maître by Pierre Boulez together with the ensemble “oenm” at the Dialogue Festival of the Mozarteum Foundation Salzburg. In 2018 she was invited to participate in a song recital for the 100th birthday of Gottfried von Einem. Moreover, the mezzo-soprano took on the leading role in the world premiere of Katrin Klose’s short opera Nachtsonne. Franziska Weber also sang the first performances of Mieczysław Weinberg’s song cycle Biblia cygańska (Gypsy bible) in Austria and Germany.

In August 2019 she was awarded the “Price for Best Interpretation” of the Oder-Spree Opera Festival for her interpretation of Charlotte`s Letter Aria from Massenet’s Werther with the Prussian Chamber Orchestra. At the same festival she also took on the role Third Lady in Mozart`s Magic Flute at short notice.

In October 2019, Franziska Weber started her master’s degree in music theatre/opera performance at the Theatre Academy August Everding in Munich, studying with KS Prof. Christiane Iven. In 2020 she worked on the role of Hermia in the opera A Midsummer Night`s Dream by Benjamin Britten in a production of the Theatre Academy.

 

Media

“Żydek” from “Biblia Cygańska” by Mieczysław Weinberg

Franziska Weber (mezzo-soprano)
Mamikon Nakhapetov (piano)

Live recording – January 2020

“Va! laisse couler mes larmes” from “Werther” by Jules Massenet

Franziska Weber (mezzo-soprano)
Oresta Cybriwsky (piano)

Recording – July 2020

Steckbrief

Wo komme ich her?
Salzburg
Warum singe ich?
Ich liebe den Moment, wenn durch die Musik und die darin steckende Kraft eine Verbindung zwischen mir und dem Publikum entsteht; wenn ich als Künstlerin Sprachrohr für den in der Musik steckenden Ausdruck bin.
Was mag ich außer Singen?
Tanz, Sport und Yoga, Klavier spielen und ganz typisch österreichisch: Mehlspeisen kochen!
Was war biografisch mein musikalisches Highlight?
Die Briefarie der Charlotte mit vollem Orchester zu singen – Flowgefühl garantiert!
Wie lautet mein Lebensmotto?
Everything comes to you at the right time, just be patient and perceptive.

Biografie

Die Salzburger Mezzosopranistin Franziska Weber begann schon in früher Kindheit in Chören zu singen. Ab dem 15. Lebensjahr erhielt sie klassischen Gesangsunterricht und studierte von 2015 bis 2019 im Bachelor Konzertfach Gesang und Gesangspädagogik an der Universität Mozarteum Salzburg bei KS Prof. Ildikó Raimondi. Weitere musikalische Anregungen erhielt sie auf Meisterkursen von Prof. Claudia Visca, Snežana Brzakovic und Tanja A. Baumgartner.

In ihrer Studienzeit hatte Franziska Weber Gelegenheit, an verschiedenen szenischen Produktionen chorisch mitzuwirken; sowohl an der Universität Mozarteum (Poulenc – Dialogues des Carmélites, 2016; Händel – Alcina, 2017) als auch bei renommierten Festivals in Salzburg (Mozart – Die Entführung aus dem Serail, Mozartwoche 2018; Puccini – Tosca, Osterfestspiele 2018). 2017 bekam Franziska Weber zudem die Möglichkeit, einen Lehrbube in Richard Wagners Die Meistersinger von Nürnbergan der Mailänder Scala unter Daniele Gatti zu singen.

Franziska Weber engagiert sich auch besonders im Bereich der modernen Musik; so sang sie 2017 bei dem Dialoge-Festival der Stiftung Mozarteum Salzburg Le Marteau sans maître von Pierre Boulez gemeinsam mit dem Ensemble „oenm“, durfte 2018 einen Liederabend zum 100. Geburtstag von Gottfried von Einem mitgestalten und übernahm die Hauptpartie in der Uraufführung von Katrin Kloses Kurzoper Nachtsonne. Sie sang außerdem die österreichische und deutsche Erstaufführung von Mieczysław Weinbergs Liedzyklus Biblia cygańska (Zigeunerbibel).

Im August 2019 bekam Franziska Weber den Interpretationspreis des Festivals Oper Oder-Spree für ihre Interpretation der Briefarie der Charlotte aus Massenets Werther mit dem Preußischen Kammerorchester verliehen. Bei demselben Festival übernahm sie auch kurzfristig die Rolle Dritte Dame in Mozarts Zauberflöte.

Seit Oktober 2019 studiert Franziska Weber in München an der Theaterakademie August Everding im Master Musiktheater / Operngesang und in der Gesangsklasse von Prof. Christiane Iven. 2020 erarbeitete sie die Rolle der Hermia in der Oper A Midsummer Night’s Dream von Benjamin Britten in einer Produktion der Theaterakademie.

Media

„Żydek“ from „Biblia Cygańska“ by Mieczysław Weinberg

Franziska Weber (mezzo-soprano)
Mamikon Nakhapetov (piano)

Live recording – January 2020

„Va! laisse couler mes larmes“ from „Werther“ by Jules Massenet

Franziska Weber (mezzo-soprano)
Oresta Cybriwsky (piano)

Recording – July 2020