Interview

Where do I come from
The French part of Switzerland
Why do I sing?
Vital necessity.
And what do I like apart from singing?
Literature. Yoga. Contemporary art. Mountains.
My own personal musical highlight?
My high school diploma dissertation. I executed a project for soprano, string quartet and piano on my own, from the artistic to the organisational aspects. I sang works of Poulenc, Fauré, Chausson and Kurt Weill. That was my own creation.
My motto?
Do not expect from others that which you do not expect from yourself.

Biography

Julie Catherine Eggli was born in 1999 in Switzerland and started piano lessons at an early age, as well as singing in the choir of „Maîtrise du Conservatoire de Lausanne”. Since being 9 years old, she received voice lessons from Dorothea Christ. In 2015, she was accepted for the Pre-College program at the Conservatoire de Lausanne, joining the class of Stephan Macleod. Since spring 2016 she received additional voice lessons with Michèle Moser in Genève.
Julie Catherine Eggli took part in choir projects with Henri Farge, Philippe Huttenlocher, and John Duxbury and participated in various concerts as a soloist as well, such as the Orchestre des Jeunes professionnels de la Suisse Romande, or within the scope of the „Festival 4 Saisons” and the „Cully Classique Festival off”
Her special interest is to art song, old and new music, discovering unknown music pieces and literature.
She is designing own projects and programs, connecting literature and music with different casts.
Since winter semester 2017, Julie Catherine Eggli studies her degree in Bachelor of Arts (voice) in the class with KS Prof. Christiane Iven.
Simultaneously she is graduating her bachelor degree at the University Sorbonne in a correspondence course for literature.
In 2018, the young singer took part in a production of Leoš Janacek’s „Zápisník zmizelého” (The Diary of One Who Disappeared) at the Theaterakademie August Everding, as well as the world premiere of „Der Club der Metzger” (The Club of Butchers) by Hans-Henning Ginzel (in the scope of the „Faust” Festival Munich/Germany) and a production of „liminal space”, a cooperation by the University of Music Munich/Germany together with the „Münchner Biennale”.
Furthermore, she did a concert with the Ensemble Consonances in Genève under the direction of Mikhaïl Zhuravlev.

Steckbrief

Wo komme ich her?
Aus der französischen Schweiz
Warum singe ich?
Lebensnotwendigkeit
Was mag ich außer Singen?
Literatur. Yoga. Zeitgenössische Kunst. Berge.
Was war biografisch mein musikalisches Highlight?
Meine Maturarbeit. Ich habe ein Projekt für Sopran, Streichquartett und Klavier ganz allein gestaltet, von den künstlerischen bis zu den organisatorischen Aspekten. Da habe ich Werke von Poulenc, Fauré, Chausson und Kurt Weill gesungen. Das war meine eigene Kreation.
Wie lautet mein Lebensmotto?
Verlange nicht von den Anderen, was du nicht von dir selbst verlangst.

Biografie

Julie Catherine Eggli wurde 1999 in der Schweiz geboren und begann schon früh Klavier zu spielen und im Chor am «Maîtrise du Conservatoire de Lausanne» zu singen. Seit dem 9. Lebensjahr erhielt sie Gesangunterricht bei Dorothea Christ. 2015 wurde sie in das PreCollege-Programm am «Conservatoire de Lausanne» in der Klasse von Stephan Macleod aufgenommen.

Seit Frühling 2016 bekam sie zusätzlich auch Gesangunterricht bei Michèle Moser in Genf.
Sie hat bei verschiedenen Chor-Projekten mit Henri Farge, Philippe Huttenlocher und John Duxbury mitgewirkt und sang auch solistisch bereits zahlreiche Konzerte, u.a. mit dem «Orchestre des Jeunes professionnels de la Suisse romande» oder im Rahmen des «Festival 4 Saisons», und des «Cully Classique Festival off».
Ihr besonderes Interesse gilt dem Lied, der alten und neuen Musik, dem Entdecken unbekannter musikalischer Werke und der Literatur.
Sie entwirft eigene Projekte und Programme, für die sie Texte und Musik in verschiedenen Besetzungen miteinander verbindet.

Seit dem Wintersemester 2017 studiert Julie Catherine Eggli im künstlerischen Bachelorstudiengang Gesang an der Hochschule für Musik und Theater München in der Klasse von KS Prof. Christiane Iven.

Parallel dazu absolviert sie ein Fernstudium im Bachelorstudiengang Literaturwissenschaft an der Universität Sorbonne.
2018 hat die junge Sängerin bei einer Produktion von Leoš Janaceks „Tagebuch eines Verschollenen“ an der Theaterakademie August Everding, bei der Uraufführung „Der Club der Metzger“ von Hans-Henning Ginzel (im Rahmen des Faust-Festivals München) und auch in der Musiktheaterproduktion „liminal space“(einer Kooperation der Hochschule für Musik mit der Münchner Biennale), mitgewirkt.

Darüber hinaus konzertierte sie in Genf mit dem «Ensemble Consonances» unter der Leitung von Mikhaïl Zhuravlev.