Interview

Where do I come from
From Ruhstorf, a small village nearby Passau in Lower Bavaria
Why do I sing?
Because I have been singing all my life
And what do I like apart from singing?
Playing violin, my chamaeleon Rango, cooking, baking, and enjoying food
My own personal musical highlight?
Taking part in „West Side Story“ at the Landestheater Niederbayern (Lower Bavaria), being only 14 years of age. By then I knew that I wanted to become a professional singer.
My motto?
„Without music all would be nothing“, W.A. Mozart

Biography

Katja Maderer was born in 2000 in Passau/Bavaria and started her music education being 5 years old by studying violin and piano. Since 2013, she is receiving voice lessons in an education program for the gifted youth with Kurt Brunner at the Conservatory in Passau.
In both realms, violin and, voice, Katja had been already successful at the „Jugend Musiziert” competition. She received various prizes (regional, state and national) amongst others in the categories violin/piano (3. national prize), voice/piano (3. national prize) and voice duo (2. national prize). At the national competition, she received the first prize in the evaluation for solo voice.
The young soprano could be heard in a broadcast of „On Stage” of BR Klassik and also performed in season 2014/15 as Girl in „West Side Story” at the Landestheater Niederbayern. In 2017 she performed in Passau at the event series of „Menschen in Europa” (People in Europe).
In 2015 Katja was honored with the young talents award of the mutual
al savings bank Passau (Sparkasse Passau), together with her pianist Firmian Drost. Furthermore, Katja is an awardee of the Deutsche Stiftung Musikleben (German Music Life Foundation). Since 2017 she is provided with a violin from the French luthier Charles Adolphe Gand from 1851.
In the winter semester 2018, Katja completes her degree in Bachelor of Arts (voice) at the University of Music and Theater Munich in the class of KS Prof. Christiane Iven.

Steckbrief

Wo komme ich her?
Aus Ruhstorf, einem kleinen Dorf bei Passau in Niederbayern
Warum singe ich?
Weil ich schon immer gesungen habe.
Was mag ich außer Singen?
Geige spielen, mein Chamäleon Rango, Kochen, Backen und Essen
Was war biografisch mein musikalisches Highlight?
Die „West Side Story“ am Landestheater Niederbayern, in der ich mit 14 Jahren mitwirken durfte. Von da an wusste ich, dass ich Sängerin werden möchte.
Wie lautet mein Lebensmotto?
„Ohne Musik wär‘ alles nichts“, W.A. Mozart

Biografie

Katja Maderer, geboren 2000 in Passau begann ihre musikalische Ausbildung im Alter von 5 Jahren mit Violine und Klavier. Gesangsunterricht erhielt sie seit 2013 in der Begabtenförderklasse von Kurt Brunner an der Kreismusikschule Passau.
In beiden Bereichen, Violine und Gesang, war Katja bereits sehr erfolgreich beim Wettbewerb „Jugend musiziert“. Sie erreichte mehrere Preise auf Regional-, Landes- und Bundesebene u.a. in den Kategorien Violine/Klavier (3. Bundespreis), Gesang/Klavier (3. Bundespreis) und Vokalduo (2.Bundespreis). Beim Bundeswettbewerb 2017 erreichte sie den 1. Preis in der Wertung Sologesang.
Die junge Sopranistin war bereits mehrmals in der Sendung „On Stage“ auf BR-Klassik zu hören und sang in der Spielzeit 2014/2015 am Landestheater Niederbayern im Musical „West Side Story“ die Rolle des Girl. 2017 trat sie bei der Veranstaltungsreihe „Menschen in Europa“ in Passau auf.
2015 wurde Katja mit ihrem Klavierpartner Firmian Drost mit dem Jugendförderpreis der Sparkassenstiftung Passau ausgezeichnet und 2017 wurde dem Duo der Kulturförderpreis des Landkreises Passau verliehen. Außerdem ist Katja Stipendiatin der Deutschen Stiftung Musikleben. Seit 2017 wird ihr eine Violine des französischen Geigenbauers Charles Adolphe Gand von 1851 zur Verfügung gestellt.
Ab dem Wintersemester 2018 studiert Katja im künstlerischen Bachelorstudiengang Gesang an der Hochschule für Musik und Theater München in der Klasse von KS Prof. Christiane Iven.